Beginners Welcome (Paperback)

Beginners Welcome By Cindy Baldwin Cover Image

Beginners Welcome (Paperback)

$7.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:19am

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss.

It’s been eighty-three days since Annie Lee’s daddy died, but she still sees reminders of him everywhere. His record player mysteriously plays his favorite songs, there’s shaving cream in the sink every morning, and the TV keeps flipping to the Duke basketball games he loved.

She knows Mama notices it too, but Mama’s been working around the clock to make ends meet. To make matters worse, Annie Lee’s friends ditched her over the summer. She feels completely alone—until she meets Mitch.

Though Mitch is tough and confident on the outside, she may need a friend just as badly as Annie Lee. But after losing so much, Annie Lee is afraid to let anyone get too close.

And Mitch isn’t the only friend trying to break through Annie Lee’s defenses. Ray, an elderly pianist who plays at a local mall, has been giving her piano lessons. His music is pure magic, and Annie Lee hopes it might be the key to healing her broken heart. But when Ray goes missing, searching for him means breaking a promise to Mitch.

Faced with once again losing those who mean the most to her, Annie Lee must make a choice: retreat back into her shell, or risk admitting how much she needs Mitch and Ray—even if it means getting hurt all over again.

Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

A Whitney Award finalist

An AML Award finalist

Cindy Baldwin is the award-winning author of Where the Watermelons GrowBeginners Welcome, and The Stars of Whistling Ridge. She is a disabled activist, co-founder of Middle Grade at Heart, and We Need Diverse Books mentor. She lives just outside Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter. To learn more about Cindy, visit www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062665904
ISBN-10: 0062665901
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: March 23rd, 2021
Pages: 352
Language: English

"Targeted to kids who sometimes feel invisible or afraid, Baldwin’s prose challenges them to be the bravest and wisest versions of themselves, delivering the message that it is our brokenness that makes us beautiful, not our perfection." — School Library Journal (starred review)

“As delicate and powerful as a sonata, Annie Lee’s story of music, magic, loss, and love should not be missed!” — Jessica Day George, New York Times bestselling author of Tuesdays at the Castle

“Southern charm and ghostly magic bridge the loss of 11-year-old Annie Lee’s daddy. Once again, Baldwin crafts a solid story of hardship tempered by community and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Genuine and hopeful, Annie Lee’s story is one of finding courage in tough circumstances, of love and vulnerability, and of the power of music, despite one’s imperfections.” — Booklist

“Intermingling themes of grief and loss with moments of unexpected, joyful connection, Baldwin depicts character growth with particular grace.” — Publishers Weekly