Sardines (Hardcover)

Sardines By Sashi Kaufman Cover Image

Sardines (Hardcover)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Mar 2 5:24pm

In this affecting middle grade debut, perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a boy finds unexpected friendship in a motley group of kids following a devastating loss.

Nothing’s been the same since Lucas’s older brother died. After the accident, Lucas’s mom disappeared without any warning, and his dad is struggling to cope. Lucas is pretty much alone—except for the other kids he meets at his middle school’s aftercare program.

There’s Cat, the star athlete; Robbie, the goofball; Anna, the popular girl; and Finn, the mysterious new kid. Between games of Sardines, a reverse hide-and-seek, the kids realize that each group member has a secret wish. If they work together, the group might be able to help make each person’s dream come true. But for that to happen, Lucas will have to find the strength to trust his new friends with his family’s secrets.

* 2023 Maine Literary Award Winner *

"You will fall in love with these characters and root for them each step of the way." —Ann Braden, author of The Benefits of Being an Octopus

“At once tender and funny, honest and smart.” —Megan Frazer Blakemore, award-winning author of The Water Castle

Sashi Kaufman writes books for kids and young adults, including The Other Way Around and Wired Man and Other Freaks of Nature. She’s a middle school teacher in southern Maine, where she lives with her family. When she’s not reading or writing, she likes to hike, explore, and eat ice cream. Visit her online at www.sashikaufman.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062995612
ISBN-10: 0062995618
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English

"Full of honesty, humor, and hope. You will fall in love with these characters and root for them each step of the way." — Ann Braden, author of The Benefits of Being an Octopus

“At once tender and funny, honest and smart. The characters will squeeze into your heart.” — Megan Frazer Blakemore, award-winning author of The Water Castle

"Strong. A thoughtful and compassionate story of friends and family.” — Kirkus Reviews

"Fresh and relatable."  — Publishers Weekly