Take Your Breath Away: A Novel (Hardcover)

Take Your Breath Away: A Novel Cover Image

Take Your Breath Away: A Novel (Hardcover)

$27.99


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Jun 26 1:19pm

A missing woman. A husband suspected. The truth will . . .

TAKE YOUR BREATH AWAY

From the New York Times bestselling author of Find You First and Elevator Pitch comes a gripping psychological thriller about a formerly missing woman who has suddenly returned under mysterious circumstances.

One weekend, while Andrew Mason was on a fishing trip, his wife, Brie, vanished without a trace. Most everyone assumed Andy had got away with murder—it’s always the husband, isn’t it?—but the police could never build a strong case against him. For a while, Andy hit rock bottom—he drank too much to numb the pain, was abandoned by all his friends save one, nearly lost his business, and became a pariah in the place he once called home.

Now, six years later, Andy has finally put his life back together. He sold the house he once shared with Brie and moved away. To tell the truth, he wasn’t sad to hear that the old place was razed and a new house built on the site. He’s settled down with a new partner, Jayne, and life is good.

But Andy’s peaceful world is about to shatter. One day, a woman shows up at his old address, screaming, “Where’s my house? What’s happened to my house?” And then, just as suddenly as she appeared, the woman—who bears a striking resemblance to Brie—is gone. The police are notified and old questions—and dark suspicions—resurface. 

Could Brie really be alive after all these years? If so, where has she been? It soon becomes clear that Andy’s future and the lives of those closest to him depend on discovering what the hell is going on. The trick will be whether he can stay alive long enough to unearth the answers. 

Linwood Barclay is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty previous novels, and two thrillers for children. His books have been translated into more than two dozen languages. He wrote the screenplay adaptation for his novel Never Saw it Coming and his book The Accident has been made into a TV series in France. His novel No Time for Goodbye was a global bestseller. A native of Connecticut, he now lives in Toronto with his wife, Neetha.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063035133
ISBN-10: 0063035138
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: May 17th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English

“Perhaps the most complex and unsettling of Linwood Barclay’s oeuvre so far.”
Toronto Star on Take Your Breath Away

“Linwood Barclay once again proves himself a master of pace, structure, and suspense. Take Your Breath Away had me guessing and turning pages all night, and I still didn’t figure it out till the end. Gripping, propulsive, and surprising—he wasn’t kidding, I’m breathless.” — David Koepp, Jurassic Park screenwriter and author of national bestseller Cold Storage

“An especially good read. The author keeps us guessing right up until the end.... Motives are hinted at and secrets gradually revealed, leading to an ending that will knock your socks off.”
Booklist on Take Your Breath Away

"In typical Barclay fashion, subplots and characters weave together in a tight, satisfying story. Perfect for fans of suspense novels by Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner." — Library Journal on Take Your Breath Away

“An infectious thriller--one of Barclay’s best.” — Kirkus Reviews on Take Your Breath Away

“Linwood Barclay has plenty of surprises up his sleeve that will have your head spinning.... Brilliantly crafted.... As the title states, prepare to have your breath taken away!” — Bookreporter.com on Take Your Breath Away

“[A] well-paced standalone…Barclay shifts among multiple viewpoints to keep the tension high.... Everyone is a plausible suspect, and the disparate plot pieces eventually fit together with the precision of a Chinese puzzle box. Barclay reliably entertains.”
Publishers Weekly on Take Your Breath Away

"Suspenseful....The story will suck you in from the first chapter." — AARP Magazine on Take Your Breath Away

"Another fantastic suspense novel from Linwood Barclay.... I could not stop reading this book once I picked it up. Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Chevy Stevens." — San Francisco Book Review on Take Your Breath Away

"Barclay’s imaginative plotting... bears a great resemblance to that of Harlan Coben. Take Your Breath Away is the best Linwood Barclay puzzle mystery that I’ve read in some time. He is constantly coming up with surprise after surprise throughout the whole narrative. Great escape reading!" — Deadly Pleasures Magazine

"[A] fun page turner." — Book Riot on Take Your Breath Away

“Perhaps only John Grisham is his equal in creating show-stealing supporting characters.”  — Sunday Times (London)

Find You First starts with a bang and ends with an even bigger one. Barclay is a terrific writer, but he’s outdone himself with this. It’s the best book of his career. I couldn’t put it down, and you won’t be able to, either. If you enjoy thrillers, this is the real deal. It never lets up.” — Stephen King