Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote (Hardcover)

Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote Cover Image
$18.99
In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Oct 30 9:16am

Description


New York Times bestseller! 

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told.

Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage.

FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.
 

About the Author


Veronica Chambers is the editor of Past Tense at The New York Times. She recently created the anthology “The Meaning of Michelle,” a collection by 16 writers celebrating the former first lady, and edited the upcoming “Queen Bey: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter.” She is a prolific author, best known for her critically acclaimed memoir, Mama's Girl. Born in Panama and raised in Brooklyn, she writes often about her Afro-Latina heritage. She speaks, reads, and writes Spanish, but she is truly fluent in Spanglish. She is currently a JSK Knight fellow at Stanford University. www.veronicachambers.com, Twitter: @vvchambers, Instagram: @vvchambers

Praise For…


★ "Timely, moving, and necessary." - Kirkus 

★ "This informative book takes a refreshingly inclusive approach to the history of women’s voting rights in the United States...it widens the spotlight, profiling leaders who have represented minorities and describing the particular challenges they have faced as they worked to promote women’s suffrage." —Booklist, STARRED review

"Lushly illustrated." —The New York Times Book Review

"This collection of remarkable women will make for a thorough primary source for middle grade research projects... Recommended for school and public libraries, especially where whitewashed histories detailing the suffrage movement need updating." - School Library Journal 

"
Eye-catching." - The Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358408307
ISBN-10: 035840830X
Publisher: Versify
Publication Date: August 18th, 2020
Pages: 144

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card