Complete Serenades in Full Score, Series II (Dover Music Scores) (Paperback)

Complete Serenades in Full Score, Series II (Dover Music Scores) By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Cover Image

Complete Serenades in Full Score, Series II (Dover Music Scores) (Paperback)


Special Order—Subject to Availability
(This book cannot be returned.)

Some of Mozart's most enduring and popular music was originally composed for relatively minor occasions -- garden parties, weddings, birthdays, home concerts for his friends, and the like. Among these compositions were the multi-movement instrumental pieces he called serenades. Written in the 1770s and 1780s, they include such favorite compositions as Eine kleine Nachtmusik, the Serenata Notturna, A Musical Joke, the Haffner Serenade, and the Posthorn Serenade. This two-volume set contains all of Mozart's notturnas as well as the complete serenades.
Series I includes: Serenade in D Major, K.185/167a (strings & winds); Serenade in D Major, K.204/213a (strings & winds); Serenata Notturna, K.239 (strings & timpani); Haffner Serenade, K.250/248b (strings & winds); Serenade in C Minor, K.388/384a (8 winds); and A Musical Joke (Ein musikalischer Spass), K.255 (strings & horns).
Reprinted from the authoritative Breitkopf & H rtel edition, these effervescent works are now readily available in these two sturdy, attractive, inexpensive volumes, inviting musicians and music lovers to savor and study their characteristic Mozartean clarity, invention, and charm.

A child prodigy who blossomed into the Classical era's most influential composer, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-91) wrote more than 600 works in his brief life. His oeuvre encompasses a wide variety of genres, including symphonic, chamber, operatic, and choral music.
Product Details ISBN: 9780486265667
ISBN-10: 0486265668
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: June 13th, 2012
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: Dover Music Scores