It Sounded Better in My Head (Paperback)

It Sounded Better in My Head Cover Image
$10.99
In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Aug 5 9:23pm

Description


William C. Morris Debut Award Finalist! From debut author Nina Kenwood comes It Sounded Better in My Head, a tender and funny love letter to coming of age, and first love and its confusions, perfect for fans of Booksmart and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

When her parents announce their impending divorce, Natalie can’t understand why no one is fighting, or at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best friends, hook up, leaving her feeling slightly miffed and decidedly awkward. She’d always imagined she would end up with Zach one day—in the version of her life that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of banter, pining, and meaningful looks.

Now everything has changed, and nothing is quite making sense. And then, an unexpected romance with Zach’s older brother comes along and shakes things up even further...

About the Author


Nina Kenwood is the marketing manager at Readings bookshop in Melbourne, Australia. She has worked in the book industry for ten years, but has been writing, secretly, for much longer.

The author of It Sounded Better in my Head, Nina is available to sort you into a Hogwarts house upon request.

Praise For…


William C. Morris Award Finalist
2021 Rise: A Feminist Book Project List
Nominated to YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers List

“I am all-caps OBSESSED with this achingly insightful, utterly charming, beautiful heart-punch of a book. Instant favorite.” —Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“With candor and affection, It Sounded Better in My Head captures a teenager navigating the final moments of one stage of life and the first moments of the next.” —BookPage

“An authentic coming of-age story that perfectly captures the awkwardness and self-doubt many young adults feel. Teens will see aspects of themselves mirrored in Kenwood’s debut.” —School Library Journal

“This not-so-light-hearted romance will pull on the heartstrings.” —Seattle Book Review

“I love, love, loved it.” —Melina Marchetta, author of Jellicoe Road

“A cute romance featuring a heroine who never before got to feel cute.” —Kirkus Reviews

“An extraordinary coming-of-age story. Kenwood manages to capture the intensity of disagreement between friends, the unavoidable self-doubts that most teenagers can’t help, and the annoying yet silly family banter. A compelling, genuine coming of age story that does not hold back from representing multiple issues that teenagers face.” —The Nerd Daily

“Nina Kenwood has created nuanced and authentic characters, each caught up in their trajectory toward adulthood. A gorgeous and funny coming-of-age novel that perfectly captures the awkward, liminal nature of adolescence.” —Books + Publishing, starred review

“A deeply tender coming-of-age story about first love, friendship, and all of the horrifying awkwardness of navigating young adulthood. Thrumming with wonderfully nuanced and vividly depicted emotion, this book will make your heart soar, while also making you laugh.” —Booktopia

“Natalie conveys the difficulties not only of puberty but of moving past internalized negativity in a voice that’s sharp, funny, and self-aware, making it even more satisfying for readers to see her realize that she can be the star of her life, not just the sidekick.” —Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250219282
ISBN-10: 1250219280
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: April 13th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card