Mythago Wood (The Mythago Cycle #1) (Paperback)

Mythago Wood (The Mythago Cycle #1) By Robert Holdstock, Michael Swanwick (Introduction by) Cover Image

Mythago Wood (The Mythago Cycle #1) (Paperback)

By Robert Holdstock, Michael Swanwick (Introduction by)


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Jun 13 1:21pm
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of Jun 13 2:21pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Mythago Cycle series.

Encounter myth and terror in the forest deeps in Robert Holdstock's Mythago Wood—a classic fantasy novel in The Mythago Cycle now available in a Tor Essentials edition, with a new introduction by Michael Swanwick.

The mystery of Ryhope Wood, Britain's last fragment of primeval forest, consumed George Huxley's entire long life. Now, after his death, his sons have taken up his work. But what they discover is numinous and perilous beyond all expectation.

For the Wood, larger inside than out, is a labyrinth full of myths come to life, "mythagos" that can change you forever. A labyrinth where love and beauty haunt your dreams...and may drive you insane.

"This is a winning novel with a fine feeling for the interface between airy dreams and sweaty reality."—Publishers Weekly

Tor Essentials are new editions of great fantasy and science fiction classics of our time, featuring new introductions by contemporary authors.

ROBERT HOLDSTOCK (1948-2009) was widely regarded as one of the greatest fantasists of his time. Mythago Wood (1984), the novel that made his reputation, won the World Fantasy and BSFA Awards. Among its several sequels, Lavondyss (1988) won the BFSA Award. His interest in Celtic and Nordic mythology was prominently reflected in his accalimed Merlin Codex trilogy, consisting of Celtika, The Iron Grail, and The Broken Kings, published between 2001 and 2007.

MICHAEL SWANWICK has received the Nebula, Theodore Sturgeon, World Fantasy and Hugo Awards, and has the pleasant distinction of having been nominated for and lost more of these same awards than any other writer. His novels include Stations of the Tide, Bones of the Earth, two Darger and Surplus novels, and The Iron Dragon's Mother. He has also written over a hundred and fifty short stories - including the Mongolian Wizard series on - and countless works of flash fiction. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife, Marianne Porter.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250790927
ISBN-10: 1250790921
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: The Mythago Cycle

“A classic of the literature of fantasy . . . Ryhope Wood [is], like so many other people and things, bigger and strangers and much more alive and dangerous the further you go.”—Neil Gaiman

“One of the defining fantasy novels of the last 50 years . . . A writer whose work matches the power of J.R.R. Tolkien, without being either a copy or a simple reaction.”—The Guardian

“A powerful and profound work of creation which I believe will be read, not merely in the present, but in a hundred years' time.”—Brian Aldiss

“Utterly enthralling.”—Times Literary Supplement

“Robert Holdstock's is one of the voices at the very heart of modern fantasy.”—Guy Gavriel Kay

“A writer of both heart and fire.”—The Times of London

“I found Mythago Wood hard to shake off.”—The New York Times

“One of the strangest, most beautiful, and most compelling fantasies I have ever read. A marvel of a book.”—Keith Roberts