You Wouldn't Dare (Hardcover)

You Wouldn't Dare By Samantha Markum Cover Image

You Wouldn't Dare (Hardcover)

$18.99


Not Yet Published—Pre-Order Now

"Perfect for fans of Nina Moreno, Gilmore Girls, and Sarah Dessen, You Wouldn't Dare will wrap you up in a sun-drenched, salt-scented hug and refuse to let you go." - Amanda Quain, author of Accomplished: A Georgie Darcy Novel

A rom com about trying to have the summer of your life before everything changes - only to realize change might be exactly what you need...


When Juniper Nash Abreheart kissed Graham Isham for the first time, she had no idea it would nearly be the end of their friendship.

More specifically, she had no idea that the terrible, unforgivable thing she did to keep their summer fling a secret wouldn’t just ruin their friendship, but also Graham’s entire life. Now, months since the fallout, Junie and Graham spend most of their time sidestepping conversational landmines on the journey back to normalcy.

Junie is sure the strangeness between her and Graham is her biggest problem - until her mom hires Tallulah, her boyfriend’s surly teenage daughter, to work at their family café, and then announces they’ll all be moving in together at the end of the summer. The only bright spot ahead is Junie’s dad’s upcoming visit, just in time for her community theater production. And then poor turnout soon threatens that.

But when Junie starts to realize the feelings she swore to take care of last summer have lingered, saving her production and managing her hostile relationship with Tallulah might be the least of her problems. Graham isn’t just off limits - their friendship has been mended to barely withstand a breeze, and the gale force of Junie’s feelings could be just what breaks them.

Samantha Markum’s You Wouldn’t Dare is about the risks and triumphs that come with being brave enough to take a chance at what you really want, including love.

Samantha Markum was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri with an eight year intermission in Florida, where she mostly just collected sunburns. When she’s not writing, she can be found begging her dog for attention, buying too many candles, and ignoring the dust bunnies gathering in her house. When she is writing, you can find her staring at the wall in search of inspiration. She is the author of This May End Badly and You Wouldn't Dare.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250846785
ISBN-10: 1250846781
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

Praise for You Wouldn't Dare:

"In You Wouldn't Dare, Samantha Markum's follow-up to her rollicking debut, Junie Nash is a messy and impulsive heroine with a deep affection for her lifelong besties and all the charming locals on her island in the Florida Keys. You can’t resist rooting for her as Junie struggles to reconcile her complicated feelings for Graham (and her largely absent father) and accept her mother’s boyfriend and his annoying daughter — all the while working in her mother’s cafe and saving the production of the local play. This book is the platonic ideal of a beach read. Steeped in a sense of place, you can practically feel the salt spray and smell the Coppertone on every page. Markum perfectly captures the lazy, hazy days of summer — as well as the bittersweet recognition that summer always, eventually, ends." - Susan Azim Boyer, author of Jasmine Zumideh Needs a Win

“Angst and Humor? What kind of magic is this?! Markum is the queen on Banter. You Wouldn't Dare is laugh out loud funny, with characters who feel like friends, and the best kind of angsty romance. Markum writes heartfelt family and friendship dynamic all while giving you the best “will they-won’t they” romance that made me want to move to the beach!”—Kristin Dwyer, author of Some Mistakes Were Made

"You Wouldn't Dare is the perfect summer vacation in book form. I never wanted to leave the world crafted in its pages, from the cozy beach town setting to the characters who felt like real people I know and love. As much a heartstring-pulling tale of blended family and complex friendships as it is a swoon-filled romance, I loved every minute of this book! Samantha Markum’s writing is everything wonderful about YA fiction, and I’m a fan for life." - Kaitlyn Hill, author of Love from Scratch

"No one writes messy, beautiful, intimate, steal-your-heart friendships like Samantha Markum. Perfect for fans of Nina Moreno, Gilmore Girls, and Sarah Dessen, You Wouldn't Dare will wrap you up in a sun-drenched, salt-scented hug and refuse to let you go. This is exactly the brand of midsummer madness I didn't know I was craving. Now if you'll excuse me - I need to go start reading it all over again." - Amanda Quain, author of Accomplished: A Georgie Darcy Novel

"Reading You Wouldn't Dare was like stepping onto the hot sands of Florida and breathing in that salty air. It is a must read for summer, or any time of year when you are missing the beach! Filled with fully realized characters and a very alive small town, Markum's second book is not to be missed. If you loved Sarah Dessen, you'll love Junie and her friends." - Rachel Simon, librarian, Newton Free Library

“With small-town charm, a cast of vivid players, and Shakespearean shenanigans to spare—enlivened by Markum’s inimitable voice—You Wouldn’t Dare swept us up in a wonderful, whimsical, moving second-chance romance.” - Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of Always Never Yours

Praise for This May End Badly:

""Lots of fun and romance undergirded by relevant, timely substance." - Kirkus Reviews

"[a] witty, hilarious private school rivalry... it’s a perfect light read." - The Young Folks

"Hoo-boy, Samantha Markum’s YA debut This May End Badly is rollicking good fun from the first page to the last, with the best fake-dating romance this side of To All the Boys I've Loved! Fearless MC Doe leads her crack crew of wonderful Weston girls to out-prank the boys at their rival, Winfield, where her nemesis rules the school. The pranks are a doozy, and Doe is an absolute mastermind. When a merger of the two schools is proposed, the pranks spiral out of control, and Doe seems to lose her way until she puts her courage on the line for a cause much larger than herself. Clear the decks before you open this book: I did not put it down until I finished it seven hours later -- you won’t either! A masterful plot, confident voice, and sparkling dialogue earn Samantha Markum and the winning girls of Weston an A+ for This May End Badly. Highly recommended!" - Susan Azim Boyer, author of Jasmine Zumideh Needs a Win

“The bitingly hilarious, heartfelt This May End Badly takes your favorite fake dating trope and adds plenty of downright delightful shenanigans that’ll have readers tearing through the pages. If you’re looking for a ship to root for, then jump aboard, mateys.” - Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of You Have a Match

“Markum takes no prisoners in this stunning debut about fighting for what’s right, even if it means growing up… a little.” - Ashley Schumacher, author of Indie Next pick, Amelia Unabridged and Full Flight

"Funny, charming, real... Set in a prep school during senior year, this debut tackles it all: feminism, college applications, kissing your fake boyfriend, friendship changes, and ultimately figuring out what you want your legacy to be...without losing who you are at your core. This May End Badly feels like a fresh, feminist take on Looking for Alaska, and perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Ally Carter. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVED IT." - Rachel Simon, youth services librarian, Newton Free Library, Newton MA

"I haven't had that much fun reading a book in a long while. Whip smart and at times laugh out loud funny and emotional, the dialogue is beyond amazing. Doe's dedication to one of only place she feels safe was so powerful and the whole girl gang was outstanding! The way both schools unite to support each other at the end to protect future girls? Perfection. Change is hard and often painful and the way Doe experiences and comes to terms with it was touching and real." - Mike Lasagna, bookseller, Barnes & Noble