What Kind of Girl (Hardcover)

What Kind of Girl By Alyssa Sheinmel Cover Image

What Kind of Girl (Hardcover)

$17.99


Special Order—Subject to Availability

"Both timely and timeless, a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth."—AMBER SMITH, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes an unflinching exploration of the labels society puts on girls and women—and the strength it takes to rise above it all to claim your worth and declare your truth.

The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides.

It all started when Mike Parker's girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into the principal's office and said Mike hit her. But her classmates have questions. Why did she go to the principal and not the police? Why did she stay with Mike if he was hurting her? Obviously, if it's true, Mike should face the consequences. But is it true?

Some girls want to rally for Mike's expulsion—and some want to rally around Mike. As rumors about what really happened spread, the students at North Bay Academy will question what it means to be guilty or innocent, right or wrong.

This book is a great choice to start conversations about:

  • dating violence
  • contemporary social problems
  • young adult mental health

Praise for What Kind of Girl:

"A poignant, thought-provoking novel that will resonate deeply."—Kirkus

"A rallying cry."—Booklist

"I immediately saw myself in this book, which so thoroughly explains the thought process when coming to terms with victimhood and survivorship. I felt understood."—Chessy Prout, author of I Have the Right To

"Important, raw, timely, and ultimately hopeful…demands readers discuss the trauma of teen dating violence and how girls are so often taught—even expected—to internalize their victimization."—Shannon M. Parker, author of The Girl Who Fell and The Rattled Bones

Also by Alyssa Sheinmel:

A Danger to Herself and Others

The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)

Alyssa Sheinmel is the bestselling author of several novels for young adults including A Danger to Herself and Others and Faceless. Alyssa currently lives and writes in New York. Follow Alyssa on Instagram and Twitter @AlyssaSheinmel or visit her online at alyssasheinmel.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9781492667278
ISBN-10: 1492667277
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Pages: 384
Language: English

"I immediately saw myself in this book, which so thoroughly explains the thought process when coming to terms with victimhood and survivorship. I felt understood—Sheinmel’s What Kind of Girl is my new best friend." — Chessy Prout, author of I Have the Right To



"Important, raw, timely and ultimately hopeful, Sheinmel’s WHAT KIND OF GIRL demands readers discuss the trauma of teen dating violence and how girls are so often taught—even expected—to internalize their victimization." — Shannon M. Parker, author of The Girl Who Fell and The Rattled Bones



"Both timely and timeless, WHAT KIND OF GIRL is a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth. Alyssa Sheinmel has crafted a compelling, moving, and empowering story of hope and courage—one that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page." — Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be, The Last to Let Go, and Something Like Gravity



"A poignant, thought-provoking novel that will resonate deeply." — Kirkus Reviews

"An immersive experience...What Kind of Girl bears testament to the resilience of teenagers’ spirits and the galvanizing power of friendship." — Foreword

"Fans of Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie and Kathleen Glasgow’s Girl in Pieces will enjoy this multiple points-of-view novel for the highly relevant subject matter, including domestic violence, self-harm, eating disorders, and mental illness. Recommended for purchase for its diverse characters and timely topics." — School Library Journal

"This hard-hitting novel about social norms and mental health expresses the importance of honesty and self-advocacy." — Publishers Weekly

"A must read for young adults... What Kind of Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel answers all the questions we never knew we had about dating abuse." — Affinity Magazine

"This book is powerful and would definitely make a great addition to any high school library or classroom." — School Library Connection