To Tell You the Truth (Paperback)

To Tell You the Truth By Beth Vrabel Cover Image

To Tell You the Truth (Paperback)

$7.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:19am
An utterly charming, “gorgeous” (Booklist) Southern-voiced middle grade novel about a young girl and the adventure she embarks upon to prove her Gran’s stories were true. Perfect for fans of The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair and Three Times Lucky.

Trixy needs a story, fast, or she’s going to fail the fourth grade—that’s a fact. But every time she sits down to write, her mind is a blank. The only stories she can think of are Gran’s, the ones no one else ever believed but Trixy gulped down like sweet tea. Gran is gone now, buried under the lilac bush in the family plot, so it’s not like Trixy’s hurting anybody to claim one of those stories as her own, is she?

That stolen story turns out to be a huge success, and soon everybody in town wants Trixy to tell them a tale. Before long, the only one left is the story she vowed never to share, the one that made Gran’s face cloud up with sadness. Trying to find a way out of this tangled mess, Trixy and her friend Raymond hit the road to follow the twists and turns of Gran’s past. Maybe then Trixy can write a story that’s all her own, one that’s the straight-up truth.
Beth Vrabel is the author of a dozen middle grade novels, including the critically acclaimed To Tell You the Truth and Lies I Tell Myself. She lives in Canton, Connecticut, with her family. Visit her at BethVrabel.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781534478602
ISBN-10: 1534478604
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
Connecticut Book Award Winner

* "This cathartic narrative nimbly explores love, grief, revival, and what makes a tale true."
— Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

* “This is an outstanding book . . . a page turner. Disparate story lines weave a multidimensional tale that ties together perfectly. Trixy’s and her grandmother’s voices will remind readers of Louisiana from Kate ­DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home, echoing a similarly fearless, independent, and spunky attitude.”
— School Library Journal, Starred Review

* "As the richly drawn characters, past and present, are introduced, their storylines and their lives become interwoven. . . Difficult topics and dramatic revelations are softened by the leisurely pace and the humorous interactions . . . Poignant and uplifting.
— Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Told in beautiful, dreamy prose accented with Southern drawls . . . The book imparts a gentle wisdom on friendship and family, grief and grace, but it shines in how it stresses the beauty and importance of stories, both spoken and silent. A gorgeous reminder of the power of stories to shape our worlds and each other."

 
— Booklist