On the Line (All-Star Sports Stories: Basketball) (Paperback)

On the Line (All-Star Sports Stories: Basketball) Cover Image

On the Line (All-Star Sports Stories: Basketball) (Paperback)

$6.95


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Dec 5 5:18am

Calling all basketball fans Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

"Fast-paced court action, vivid game descriptions, and an upbeat ending.... Bowen scores again with a satisfying blend of historical sports commentary and fiction." ―School Library Journal

Marcus is the high scorer and best rebounder on his basketball team, but he has one weakness: free throws. So when he misses four free throws at the end of an important game and his team loses, he turns to Mr. Dunn, the school custodian, who has just the trick to help Marcus get back on top: the "granny shot."

Mr. Dunn shares with Marcus how former NBA star Rick Barry used this unorthodox way of shooting foul shots. Despite his success in practice, Marcus refuses to use the "granny shot" in an actual game. It looks ridiculous But when he finds himself on the foul line again at a crucial time in an important game, will he be able to overcome his pride and score for his team?

Author Fred Bowen tells another fast-paced story about conquering weaknesses and vanity to become your best. In the afterword, readers can learn more about real-life NBA player Rick Barry and his infamous "granny shot."

Discussion Guide available.

Product Details ISBN: 9781561455119
ISBN-10: 1561455113
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication Date: October 1st, 2009
Pages: 110
Language: English
Series: All-Star Sports Stories: Basketball