The Rising: A Department 19 Novel (Department Nineteen #2) (Paperback)

The Rising: A Department 19 Novel (Department Nineteen #2) Cover Image
Hard to Find

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Department Nineteen series.

Description


“Enthralling. . . . From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume.”—Kirkus

“Will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the stories of Jamie, Dracula, Frankenstein, and a mysterious man wandering the American desert, this book is closer to the elaborate works of Stephen King than many vampire novels marketed to teens.”—VOYA


Sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter's life was violently upended when he was brought into Department 19, a classified government agency of vampire hunters that was formed to deal with a little problem . . . known as Dracula.

But being the new recruit at the Department isn't all weapons training and covert missions. Jamie's own mother has been turned into a vampire—and now Jamie will stop at nothing to wreak revenge on her captors. Even if that means facing down Dracula himself.

The Rising
is a fast, furious, can't-turn-away thrill ride that will suck readers in just like a video game. This riveting second book in the Department 19 series is packed with cutting-edge gadgets, international locales, and daredevil action that tumbles ferociously across the page—perfect for fans of Darren Shan and Anthony Horowitz.

About the Author


Will Hill (www.department19.org) is a former publishing professional who lives in London.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781595146298
ISBN-10: 1595146296
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: July 25th, 2013
Pages: 592
Language: English
Series: Department Nineteen

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card