These Savage Shores: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)

These Savage Shores: The Definitive Edition By Ram V, Aditya Bidikar (Letterer), Sumit Kumar (Illustrator), Vittorio Astone (Colorist), Adrian F. Wassel (Editor) Cover Image

These Savage Shores: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)

By Ram V, Aditya Bidikar (Letterer), Sumit Kumar (Illustrator), Vittorio Astone (Colorist), Adrian F. Wassel (Editor)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of May 26 9:21am
Dracula meets East Indian legend in These Savage Shores: The Definitive Edition as an insatiable vampire sails from London to the Malabar Coast aboard an East India Company ship. But the shores of the Indus harbor darker and more ancient powers. War is brewing, where blood and teeth rule the night.

NOW FOR THE FIRST TIME! These Savage Shores: The Definitive Edition collects the complete, bestselling five issue series, and NOW includes:
  • A special foreword by superstar comics writer, Kieron Gillen (The Wicked + The Divine, Once & Future, Immortal X-Men, Star Wars: Darth Vader, Thor, and more!)
  • Original script excerpts
  • Never-before-seen character sketches
  • Never-before-seen concept art


ALONG THESE SAVAGE SHORES, WHERE THE DAYS ARE SCORCHED AND THE NIGHTS ARE FULL OF TEETH.

Two centuries after the first European ship sailed to the Malabar Coast and made landfall at Calicut, The East India Company seeks to secure its future along the lucrative Silk Route, in the year 1766. An old evil now sails aboard a company ship, hoping to make a home in this new found land. But he will soon find that the ground along the Indus is an ancient one with daemons and legends far older than himself.

From bestselling and award-winning writer Ram V (Eisner Award winner Blue in Green (Image Comics), The Many Deaths of Laila Starr (BOOM! Studios), Grafity's Wall (Dark Horse), Batman,Detective Comics, Justice League Dark, Swamp Thing, Catwoman (DC Comics), and Venom (Marvel)) and star artist Sumit Kumar (Justice League Dark, Justice League, Batman (DC Comics) comes the savagely haunting tale of blood and vengeance.

For fans of Dracula, From Hell, Vampire: The Masquerade: Winter’s Teeth, American Vampire, historical fiction, and East Indian legends, myth, and folklore.

**Voted "One of the Best Written Horror Comics of All Time" (#5 of 10) by CBR (Comic Book Resources) https://www.cbr.com/horror-comics-best-writing-ever/

**Winner of the inaugural IGNYTE Awards for The Best Comics Team (2020)

"These Savage Shores transports elements of Dracula to the Silk Route of the 1700s, bringing that text’s themes of xenophobia into an entirely new light and melding it with far older legends of India." -- Paste Magazine

"...excellent. Well written and exquisitely drawn..." -- Nicholas Eames (Kings of the Wyld)

"... a lush horror story that devours colonialists." -- AV Club

“… the book unleashes some gorgeous, ethereal splashes of supernatural majesty and terror … 10/10” – AIPT

“This is a dangerous story … And too lush to resist.” – World Comic Book Review

“Sweepingly epic and intensely intimate …One of the best vampire stories ever.” – Major Spoilers

“Beautiful and bloody.” -- Doom Rocket

“Ram V has delivered characters that are beautiful, horrific, vibrant and alive.”Big Comic Page

“These Savage Shores is a love letter to sadness and beauty.”Doom Rocket

“These Savage Shores is a perfect vampire story … a modern classic.” -- Gatecrashers
Ram V is an award-winning author and creator of comics & graphic novels such as These Savage Shores and Radio Apocalypse (VAULT COMICS), Paradiso, Blue In Green, The Many Deaths of Laila Starr, Grafity’s Wall & Ruin of Thieves. His short stories and comics have appeared in several anthologies. His most recent work includes Batman: Secret Files for DC Comics. Ram V is based in the UK

Aditya Bidikar is a comics letterer based in India. His recent work includes The White Trees, Little Bird, Bloodborne and These Savage Shores, among others.
Hometown: Pune/India
https://twitter.com/adityab
https://www.instagram.com/adityabidikar/

Sumit Kumar is a visual storyteller and illustrator based in New Delhi, India
Product Details ISBN: 9781638491866
ISBN-10: 1638491860
Publisher: Vault Comics
Publication Date: January 16th, 2024
Pages: 208
Language: English