Decision Time: How to Make the Choices Your Life Depends On (Paperback)

Decision Time: How to Make the Choices Your Life Depends On By Laurence Alison, Neil Shortland Cover Image

Decision Time: How to Make the Choices Your Life Depends On (Paperback)

$16.99


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Sep 28 1:19pm

For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Decision Time is an inspirational problem-solving and decision-making book to identify and fight off the common enemies of making good decisions—inertia, procrastination, and indecision—and empower you to make the choices that matter the most using growth mindset.

Should I change careers? Is it time to end my relationship? Can I move halfway across the world?

We have to make choices every day, big and small, but it's the life-changing ones that often cause us to freeze or react too quickly, without thinking. What can we do differently?

Laurence Alison and Neil Shortland have spent over 20 years helping soldiers, police officers, doctors, and other professionals in high-stakes environments make tough decisions when lives are on the line. In Decision Time, they show us how those same decision-making techniques apply to everyday life, whether that's deciding to take a new job or change careers later in life, end a relationship, move across the world, or declare your undying love for your best friend.

Highly accessible and interactive, Decision Time will guide you through each step of the decision-making process so next time you a find yourself at a crossroads, you'll be able to make your way with confidence.

Praise for Decision Time:

"A highly readable and entertaining book... The authors have managed the trick of applying their work with military and security professionals to the high-consequence choices people face in everyday life. This is a thought-provoking and stimulating contribution."—Gary Klein, author of Seeing What Others Don't and The Power of Intuition

Laurence Alison is the author of Rapport, professor of psychology at the University of Liverpool and the Director of Ground Truth. He has an international reputation and is widely published in relation to his work on decision-making in high-stake environments, interviewing and interrogation, as well as prioritization and detection of sex offenders. In 2021 he was awarded an MBE in the Queen's New Year's Honors list for his work on high-risk decision-making.

Dr. Neil Shortland is a world expert on military decision making. He's worked with The Ministry of Defense (MoD), the United States Department for Defense and National Institute for Justice. He has also served as an international expert on security and expert witness on Supreme Court cases involving decision making.
Product Details ISBN: 9781728265162
ISBN-10: 1728265169
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 256
Language: English