Beauty and Sadness: Mahler's 11 Symphonies (Paperback)

Beauty and Sadness: Mahler's 11 Symphonies By David Vernon Cover Image

Beauty and Sadness: Mahler's 11 Symphonies (Paperback)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

'A beautiful and important book' - Marina Mahler

Gustav Mahler wrote some of the most challenging and cherished music of all time: eleven extraordinary symphonies that continue to fascinate, intrigue and infuriate music lovers around the world.

In his dazzling new book, David Vernon celebrates these vast but often very private works of art. In stimulating prose, he investigates their theatricality and grandeur, as well as their poetry and intimacy, examining the personal, philosophical and musical influences which shaped their creation.

Each symphony, including Das Lied von der Erde and the unfinished Tenth, is given its own chapter, which also includes a detailed guide to the music, movement by movement.

Above all, this is a book that recognizes the importance of Mahler in musical and cultural history and takes us far into both his creative processes and the works themselves.


Product Details ISBN: 9781739659905
ISBN-10: 1739659902
Publisher: Candle Row Press
Publication Date: May 19th, 2022
Pages: 412
Language: English