Shodo: The practice of mindfulness through the ancient art of Japanese calligraphy (Hardcover)

Shodo: The practice of mindfulness through the ancient art of Japanese calligraphy By Rie Takeda Cover Image

Shodo: The practice of mindfulness through the ancient art of Japanese calligraphy (Hardcover)

$19.95


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
This is a beautiful guide to harmonize the body and mind connection through elegant Japanese calligraphy for fans of Ikigai and Wabi Sabi.

SHO 書: to write, writing, calligraphy. DO 道: the path, the way or the Tao, the path of life

The ancient Japanese art of calligraphy is more than just a decorative skill; it is a revolutionary approach to mindfulness. This book is a beautiful introduction to Shodo, which shows how the movement of a brush channels energy through the body and mind, uniting both in harmony. What results on the paper is a true depiction of the present moment, a movement towards a more peaceful mindfulness.

Shodo expert and professional calligrapher Rie Takeda shares the history, philosophy and craft of Shodo. Decorated throughout with her stunning art, Takeda begins with the basic brushstrokes, and builds up to drawing complete kanji, beautifully nuanced in both appearance and meaning. Introductory sections include practical information on what sort of ink, pens and brushes to use, how to prepare your space, how to sit and breathing exercises. This is alongside spiritual guidance, including the concept of Mushin (an undisturbed mind), Qi energy, and how to discover your unique inner quality.

A final troubleshooting section allows you to identify what wobbles and imperfections in your lines can tell you about the various tensions and stresses in your body and mind.
Shodo artist and calligrapher Rie Takeda started practicing calligraphy at the age of five under the creative supervision of her grandmother, a distinguished “Gayu-Ryu” calligrapher. Later she completed the master of the Gayu calligraphy school. Following her art and design studies in Sapporo and London, Rie’s enthusiasm for new forms of art, paired with her knowledge of traditional Japanese craftsmanship, led her to discover the Neo-Japonism style. The artist’s past 15 years of living in Europe have been incredibly creatively productive. Rie works on several projects, collaborations and exhibitions – both in Europe and Japan, including creating a clothing collection for John Lewis and running the popular online Domestika course "Shodo: Introduction to Japanese Calligraphy".
Product Details ISBN: 9781786786807
ISBN-10: 178678680X
Publisher: Watkins Publishing
Publication Date: October 11th, 2022
Pages: 208
Language: English