Tinderbox (Paperback)

Tinderbox By W.A. Simpson Cover Image

Tinderbox (Paperback)

$16.95


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at Union Market
1 on hand, as of Sep 30 5:33pm
A tinderbox, three huge hounds within, and an underground kingdom of old magic. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black, myth and magic, fairy tales and fantasy will love the dark adventures of the Riven Isles.

'A grisly murder, a missing box, a dangerous task, and a cranky magical talisman. Expect betrayals, intrigue, peril, and romance in this smartly moving fantasy.' Jacey Bedford, author of the Psi-Tech and Rowankind series

Isbet returns home to find the witch who raised her murdered and her prized possession, the Tinderbox stolen. She discovers a common man has used it to seize the throne. The same who conquered Prince Bram’s kingdom. Isbet’s goals are vengeance and reclaim the Box. For Bram, it is to free his homeland. When they are summoned to an underground kingdom, they must set aside their personal desires as they learn dark fey are bringing an ancient source of magic back to life. If they cannot halt the rise of the old magic, it will tear apart the Riven Isles.

FLAME TREE PRESS is the imprint of long-standing independent Flame Tree Publishing, dedicated to full-length original fiction in the horror and suspense, science fiction & fantasy, and crime / mystery / thriller categories. The list brings together fantastic new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices. Learn more about Flame Tree Press at www.flametreepress.com and connect on social media @FlameTreePress
Wendy has been writing since the age of five and finished her first novel at fourteen. Tinderbox is her debut novel. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, working in her garden, or gaming and streaming on Twitch. Visit her blog at www.authorwasimpson.com to learn more!
Product Details ISBN: 9781787587496
ISBN-10: 1787587495
Publisher: Flame Tree Press
Publication Date: August 16th, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
'A grisly murder, a missing box, a dangerous task, and a cranky magical talisman. Expect betrayals, intrigue, peril, and romance in this smartly moving fantasy.'
— Jacey Bedford, author of the Psi-Tech and Rowankind series

"W.A. Simpson begins with a simple tale of revenge and quickly weaves a grand adventure bound together with the threads of fairy tales and fey creations...where possessed staffs speak, wil-o-wisps roam, and Jack’s giant vine protects the world both above and below.”
— Troy Carrol Bucher, author of Lies of Descent

"Simpson sticks the landing with an epic conclusion. Fans of Andrea Hairston’s Master of Poisons and other secondary world fantasy will enjoy this expansive magical adventure."
— Publishers Weekly

"This promising debut features strong world building and well-developed systems of magic. It will appeal to readers of Kacen Callender’s Queen of the Conquered (2019), N.K. Jemisin’s The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (2010), and L. Penelope’s Song of Blood and Stone (2018)."
— Booklist

"Tinderbox is a riveting tale about personal strength and hidden magic."
— Foreword Reviews

"Tinderbox is a refreshing read and [...] very well-paced and it’s filled with wonderful descriptions. I also like the characters and the plot itself. One thing that I also love is the title which makes the book unique. I believe that readers who enjoy fantasy and adventure will enjoy this book."
— Million Pages