The Knighting of Sir Kaye: Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 1 (Hardcover)

The Knighting of Sir Kaye: Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 1 Cover Image

The Knighting of Sir Kaye: Sir Kaye the Boy Knight Book 1 (Hardcover)

By Don M. Winn, Dave Allred (Illustrator)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

When wicked and heroic knights clash, one ordinary boy uncovers an extraordinary destiny... "A fantastic, fun-filled adventure. Highly recommended." -Wishing Shelf Book Awards

Wicked knights roam the land of Knox since the death of the king-they go where they want, do what they want, take what they want, and never help anyone but themselves.

The new young queen dreams of a band of chivalrous knights who will protect her people from danger.

Meanwhile, in a village on the edge of a distant forest, twelve-year-old Kaye dreams of one day becoming a heroic knight like his father.

A good deed, a daring rescue, and a queen's risky plan change everything for Kaye. Now newly knighted, he and his best friend Reggie must face his father's oldest enemy-the mighty Sir Melchor. Can they triumph over him in the castle tournament, or will they disgrace the queen forever?

Perfect for fans and graduates of the Magic Treehouse The Knight at Dawn, the Magic Treehouse the Merlin Missions books, and The Boxcar Children books. Also ideal for fans of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events. Winner of six book awards, including best series, this chapter book for ages 8-12 reminds readers that there's more to being a knight than being an adult. Kindness, courage, and valor know no age. Filled with humor, heart, fun, and adventure, this book makes a perfect gift Instill a life-long love of reading in your child with this tale of courage, friendship, and kindness.

"Fortitude, good will, and friendship triumph over pettiness in this enjoyable story." -Publishers Weekly

"Books of adventure and challenge that still offer an emotional component are hard to come by for middle-grade readers-and even more so for middle-grade boys-yet Don M. Winn hits the mark dead center." -Patricia Reding for Readers' Favorite

This IndieReader Discovery Award, Moonbeam Children's Book Award, Wishing Shelf Book Award, Storyteller's Campfire Voyager Award, and Royal Dragonfly Award for best series winner is great for reading aloud.

Set in the fictional medieval land of Knox, this four-book series contains well-researched historical details about life in the Middle Ages, castles, knights, tournaments, and so much more. Great black and white illustrations by Dave Allred bring the story and time period to life.

This series will keep both reluctant and motivated readers coming back for more adventure and excitement. The series includes Book One: The Knighting of Sir Kaye, Book Two: The Lost Castle Treasure, Book Three: Legend of the Forest Beast, and Book Four: The Eldridge Conspiracy. Both young readers and their parents will enjoy seeing the boys face their difficulties with courage and bravery, solving problems using their wits, common sense, and teamwork instead of relying on superpowers.

The Knighting of Sir Kaye introduces Reggie, a hero of self-reference for dyslexic learners. The series shows how he struggles with feelings of worthlessness and shame because of his dyslexia, but also documents his journey as he grows throughout the stories and comes to value his strengths and his worth as a person. The author, Don M. Winn, knows all about growing up with dyslexia, and is also the author of the award-winning nonfiction book for parents and educators, Raising a Child with Dyslexia: What Every Parent Needs to Know, which addresses the social and emotional support a child with dyslexia needs to grow, thrive, and be happy.

Also available: The Sir Kaye study guide contains teaching materials for all four Sir Kaye books, focusing on reading comprehension, vocabulary, and writing skills while exploring themes from each book. Also includes fascinating supplemental historical material about life in the Middle Ages.

Product Details ISBN: 9781937615291
ISBN-10: 1937615294
Publisher: Cardboard Box Adventures
Publication Date: June 20th, 2016
Pages: 168
Language: English
Series: Sir Kaye the Boy Knight