Woodworm by Layla Martinez

Staff Pick

I finished this book in a night! I couldn't stop turning the pages as the story of a grandmother and granddaughter unfurled into something dark, skittering, and unresolved. In the vein of Fernanda Melchor and Mariana Enriquez, this is a modern horror story steeped in old school tradition. It builds fear out of familiar social and cultural norms and out of what lurks between assumptions and beneath silence; the worst horrors lie in what lives long past someone's death. Anyone dipping their toe into Latin Gothic horror should snatch up this beautiful Two Lines Press book immediately.

 

Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024