Staff Pick

After Tin Man--one of my favourite books from the last decade--I eagerly anticipated Winman’s new novel. The advance copy of Still Life came to me during a moment of extreme emotional turmoil, and it did what amazing literature does: it gave me solace, and provided shelter and comfort. Winman's writing is absolutely brilliant; the way she builds her characters makes you feel like you’ve known them for ages, and their dialogue and banter are so inviting you almost feel a part of each discussion. The book opens against  the backdrop of World War II Tuscany. The young British soldier Ulysses meets the sixty-something English spinster Evelyn, and over the course of an evening they form a bond that will last a lifetime. As the narrative goes back and forth between post-war London and Tuscany--spanning decades--we follow the characters' lives and meet an array of others, all with different personalities that mesh perfectly; these are friends that become family. Winman's sensibility absolutely shines through this novel, engaging us with the warmth of the interactions, the what-if elements, the meaning of family, art, passion, broken hearts, friendships, and love, so much love…  

Still Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593330753
Availability: Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - November 2nd, 2021

Staff Pick

I loved this book! After Richard’s debut novel I was looking forward to reading the next one and was not disappointed. Theo and Joel are best of mates, but then--a girl, an accident, and the rift. Fast forward some fifteen years later, Theo is living with his parents, recovering from a breakup, and very much stuck in the past. Joel is a famous scriptwriter, still very much in love with his childhood sweetheart, but he now has a secret and feels the void left by the demise of his friendship with Theo. Determined to make things right, he proposes that Theo join him on a walk of all 184 miles of the Thames Path. A story of love and friendship--of "choices we make and chances we take"--this book will warm your heart and break it at the same time.

When We Were Young Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525539919
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 20th, 2021

Staff Pick
 
For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Testaments who enjoy Atwood's knack for building dystopian landscapes that are eerily close to our own, now's the time to immerse yourself in the bio-engineered world of The Maddaddam Trilogy. Over the course of three books (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam), Atwood travels back and forth across time and perspective to reveal the cause-and-effect of a devastating plague. Atwood doesn't shy away from the big questions: where do we draw the line between "good" vs. "evil," or "nature" vs. "nurture"? What is worth preserving, and who is worthy of redemption? (Read it now and catch Michael Lesslie's television adaptation--coming soon!)
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

Pages