Staff Pick

I loved this book! After Richard’s debut novel I was looking forward to reading the next one and was not disappointed. Theo and Joel are best of mates, but then--a girl, an accident, and the rift. Fast forward some fifteen years later, Theo is living with his parents, recovering from a breakup, and very much stuck in the past. Joel is a famous scriptwriter, still very much in love with his childhood sweetheart, but he now has a secret and feels the void left by the demise of his friendship with Theo. Determined to make things right, he proposes that Theo join him on a walk of all 184 miles of the Thames Path. A story of love and friendship--of "choices we make and chances we take"--this book will warm your heart and break it at the same time.

When We Were Young Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525539919
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 20th, 2021

Staff Pick
 
For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Testaments who enjoy Atwood's knack for building dystopian landscapes that are eerily close to our own, now's the time to immerse yourself in the bio-engineered world of The Maddaddam Trilogy. Over the course of three books (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam), Atwood travels back and forth across time and perspective to reveal the cause-and-effect of a devastating plague. Atwood doesn't shy away from the big questions: where do we draw the line between "good" vs. "evil," or "nature" vs. "nurture"? What is worth preserving, and who is worthy of redemption? (Read it now and catch Michael Lesslie's television adaptation--coming soon!)
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

Staff Pick

This book of short stories is amazing, in particular the novella, My Monticello. Set in Charlottesville after the heatwaves, wildfires, and demonstrations, it traces "the unraveling" when the power fails and the guys with the tiki torches return and drive people away from their homes. A diverse busload of students and others--including the protagonist,  De'Naisha Love, and her grandmother, MaViolet, descendants of Jefferson and Sally Hemings--escape the mayhem and flee to Jefferson’s hilltop home, Monticello. Over 19 days the group organizes and tries to fend for iself.  The writing sizzles.  

My Monticello: Fiction Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250807151
Availability: Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - October 5th, 2021

Pages