A Half-Built Garden by Ruthanna Emrys

Staff Pick

It's 2083 and humanity still hasn't fully healed our planet from the myriad catastrophes of climate change, but through community organization and solidarity, we've made a start by fending off the twin hegemonies of capitalism and empire. So when sensors detect unfamiliar pollutants in the Chesapeake Bay, a local chemist is sent to find out what's dispersing the contamination. Turns out, it's aliens! But they come in peace! Or rather, they come in something a bit more overbearing and sinister. Having learned about humanity from the arrival of light-years' old radio signals, these aliens are convinced that humanity, the first other sentient species they have found, needs saving from itself before we destroy our own home. A fierce reckoning with and refutation of sci-fi and space opera's frequently colonialist roots, this novel is perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and Octavia Butler and is at every turn more hopeful and wonderful than I could ever expect.

 

A Half-Built Garden By Ruthanna Emrys Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250210999
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Tordotcom - June 27th, 2023

Web of Angels by John M. Ford

Staff Pick

 

This is one of those books that blows the top off of your head and puts it back on crooked, leaving you with a completely changed perspective. Cyberpunk-esque, but predating the literary and technological movements, Ford's work predicts a swathe of weird things about our modern world and deserves to stand alongside the most lyrical and beautifully wrought works of SFF. It's eminently readable, exciting, and rollicking, but still filled with plenty of the mysterious, including esoteric tarot myths.

Web of Angels By John M. Ford, Cory Doctorow (Introduction by) Cover Image
By John M. Ford, Cory Doctorow (Introduction by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250269140
Availability: Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books - April 30th, 2024

Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer

Staff Pick

In the start of one of the most beautiful stories I've encountered, Palmer uses the tools of science fiction, fantasy, and philosophy to weave an epic saga of a world hovering between utopia and dystopia--a fully wrought realm that's fascinating in nearly every respect. The work interrogates the ways in which we relentlessly seek beauty and love and asks the questions about humanity's future that I also frequently think about. Overall, this book poses one of modern literature's best responses to the epics of classic literature, revealing a genius author playing dozens of writerly instruments at once and striking heavenly harmonies.

 

Too Like the Lightning: Book One of Terra Ignota By Ada Palmer Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9780765378019
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Tor Books - January 24th, 2017

Pages