The Shrike - Kelly Sue Deconnick, Emma Rios, Jordie Bellair

Pretty Deadly is a gust of wind stirring the stale air over the plains of Western Fantasy, a genre you probably didn't know existed. It follows the personification of Death on the prairie: born of Beauty and blood, she rides a horse of smoke and has been called forth to rule the dead. A modern-day folktale of heartache and righteous revenge. Recommended for fans of Dark Tower and Sandman.

Pretty Deadly Volume 1: The Shrike By Kelly Sue Deconnick, Emma Rios (Artist), Jordie Bellair (Artist) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781607069621
Availability: Backordered
Published: Image Comics - May 13th, 2014

Sugar Skull - Charles Burns

Sugar Skull is the much-anticipated final volume in Charles Burns' current graphic novel series. While his seminal work Black Hole was a high school horror story, his recent trilogy (X'ed Out, The Hive, Sugar Skull) is a tale of college catharsis and self-discovery. The story follows a man detoxing from drug addiction and embarking on a self-induced vision quest to figure out how to redeem his life. For fans of Shut the Fuck Up and Buy This Book.

Sugar Skull (Pantheon Graphic Library) By Charles Burns Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780307907905
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - September 16th, 2014

Princess Mononoke: The First Story - Hayao Miyazaki

Most of you know of the highest-grossing anime film of all time, Princess Mononoke, and if you don't, stop reading this and go watch this movie! From the masterful Hayao Miyazaki (Nausicaa, Spirited Away) comes a story of ancient Japanese folklore and environmental conservation. While nature plays a large role in all of Miyazaki's films, this one feels the most grounded in its realistic majesty. It initially starts off as a warrior's tale, but quickly transforms into a fight for the harmony of mankind and its connection to and stewardship of the planet. Princess Mononoke: The First Story for the first time gives English-speaking readers a behind-the-scenes look at this monumental film. While The First Story feels more like an alternate reality, it was the original catalyst for the film. If you've seen the film, it's mind-blowing to see this kids'-book version, and if you haven't, it's just a great kids' book!

Princess Mononoke: The First Story: The First Story By Hayao Miyazaki Cover Image
$34.99
ISBN: 9781421575865
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: VIZ Media LLC - October 21st, 2014

Pages