Woodworm by Layla Martinez

Staff Pick

I finished this book in a night! I couldn't stop turning the pages as the story of a grandmother and granddaughter unfurled into something dark, skittering, and unresolved. In the vein of Fernanda Melchor and Mariana Enriquez, this is a modern horror story steeped in old school tradition. It builds fear out of familiar social and cultural norms and out of what lurks between assumptions and beneath silence; the worst horrors lie in what lives long past someone's death. Anyone dipping their toe into Latin Gothic horror should snatch up this beautiful Two Lines Press book immediately.

 

Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024

Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments by Saidiya Hartman

Staff Pick

In a beautifully written work of nonfiction, Hartman weaves story through history by inhabiting the sparse records of young Black women at the beginning of the 20th century. Along with photos, these meticulously collected stories meet in stairwells, in the chorus line, and on street corners, as Hartman, with nuance and depth--and paying special care to the multiplicities of her subjects' wants, desires, beliefs, and pleasures--brings to life a series of fascinating and radical women who dared to live as their embodied selves--even when every system attempted to criminalize their existence. Hartman mentions names you may know such as Gladys Bentley and W.E.B. DuBois as well as faces that may have blended in with the crowd; this is a book everyone should read.  

 

Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments: Intimate Histories of Riotous Black Girls, Troublesome Women, and Queer Radicals By Saidiya Hartman Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780393357622
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 14th, 2020

Anita de Monte Laughs Last by Xochitl Gonzalez

Staff Pick

Based on the true, tragic story of Ana Mendieta, this powerful novel allows us space to grieve the violent loss of a talented artist and to vent our anger over the systemic and social forces that erased her from history. Told in the alternating perspectives of two young Latina women in the art world--one studying art history at Brown in the '90s, the other an artist about to meet her tragic fate a decade earlier--the fiction is rich with vibrant, very human characters who remind us of the power of remembering. Memory is energy and includes hope and community; I am grateful for the energy this book has brought to the memory of Ana Mendieta. She is not forgotten. We remember her.

Anita de Monte Laughs Last: Reese's Book Club Pick (A Novel) By Xochitl Gonzalez Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250786210
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Flatiron Books - March 5th, 2024

Pages