Bootstrapper - Mardi Jo Link

Fat pigs, crazy roosters, monster squash, and day-old loaves of bread will never look---or taste---the same after reading Mardi Jo Link’s Bootstrapper: From Broke to Badass on a Northern Michigan Farm. This honest and irreverent memoir of divorce, child-rearing, and housekeeping is a stark reminder of what it’s like to live on the financial edge. With a perpetually overdue gas bill, three hungry, growing boys, a wrecked credit rating and a small but steady streak of bad luck, Link crafts a heartwarming, and heartbreaking, memoir in the vein of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, except that instead of hitting the road, she’s determined to stay put.

Bootstrapper: From Broke to Badass on a Northern Michigan Farm By Mardi Jo Link Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780307743589
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 8th, 2014

Where'd You Go, Bernadette - Maria Semple

A sleeper summer hit, Maria Semple’s second novel, Where’d You Go, Bernadette (Little, Brown, $25.99), is a quirky sendup of crunchy, Microsoft-centric Seattle culture. This pastiche of an epistolary novel weaves the likes of school report cards, emergency room bills, and police reports to tell the story of a once-famous MacArthur genius award-winning architect unraveling in relative obscurity at midlife. Told largely from the point of view of Bee, an eighth-grader coming to grips with the possible dissolution of her family when her mother goes missing, the story is as tender as it is hilarious, a feat that perhaps only a former staff writer of the deliciously twisted television series Arrested Development could successfully pull off.

Where'd You Go, Bernadette: A Novel By Maria Semple Cover Image
$39.00
ISBN: 9780316204279
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - August 14th, 2012

Where'd You Go, Bernadette: A Novel By Maria Semple Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316204262
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2013

You Are the Love of My Life - Susan Richards Shreve

Susan Richards Shreve is at the height of her powers with You Are the Love of My Life (W.W. Norton $25.95), a quiet, evocative, expertly paced ode to suburban Washington in the 1970s. Set against the backdrop of the crumbling Nixon administration and told by a young single mother who leaves her married lover in New York to return home, this is a story about the corrosive power of secrets, both personal and political. This prolific local author, co-chair of the PEN/ Faulkner foundation, has penned fourteen novels, a memoir, and twenty-nine children’s books.

You Are the Love of My Life: A Novel By Susan Richards Shreve Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393345940
Availability: Special Order—Subject to Availability
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 5th, 2013

Pages